Moods and Attitudes Are Contagious

We always hear the saying that your mood becomes that of which you surround yourself with, a very true statement, if we allow for it. I tend to be a sponge, I soak up what’s around me if I’m not careful. I would like to be better at not allowing the attitudes of others to sway me into feeling one way or another, which sometimes requires me to harden my sponginess. I used to think I walked around in a bubble, in fact I’ve been told a few times that people could see me in a bubble. The issue is my bubble has burst and each time I put myself in a new one it seems to get thinner. So, I’m abandoning the bubble altogether and just going to insulate myself the best I can. Don’t get me wrong- I’m still affected and nine times out of ten you’ll see your mood and attitude reflected on my face. My face holds mostly all of my emotions, there are times I am oblivious to others around me though so if you see me frowning while everyone else is smiling it’s because that’s my mood. So how do we embrace the moods and attitudes of others without allowing them to infiltrate our own psyche?

One way I can think of doing this is to remind myself that I cannot control others around me, I can only control how I respond. I get to make a conscious choice on my own mood, This usually prompts me to reevaluate how I am perceiving the other person and/or the situation pertaining to the mood being reflected. I also try to be more aware of my own mood and how I may be impacting others, because even though yes, we are ultimately responsible for ourselves, we are not automatons- we are in fact impacted by others. When we become aware, we can behave in a manner that can affect the moods of others around us. An example of this is if I am in a bad mood, my husband will most often reflect that right back to me, he becomes a mirror and I see what I must be putting off. The same can be said when situations are reversed. I have realized how much we can change the air around us in positive and negative ways, just by making a series of decisions.

What do you do to affect the moods or attitudes of those around you? Or do you notice the moods of others around you? Have you ever put yourself in a mood/attitude bubble?

Thoughts always welcome!

Image

2 thoughts on “Moods and Attitudes Are Contagious

Add yours

  1. Great photo! Wow, both posts I’ve read from you thus far are so well-written and psychologically deep. Do you have a background and training in that area or are you just intuitively insightful and perceptive? Or both!? Anyhow, thank you for your sweet comments about the big 5-0. And for visiting my blog so I could retrace the breadcrumbs (yeah, too much Hansel and Gretel as a kid!) back to all of this!
    take care,
    Stephanie

    Like

    1. Yes to both questions 🙂 I have a passion for psychology and the mind and the why’s of what we do. I also firmly believe that people are malleable, and with each unique experience comes with it the ability to change. So glad we got to connect! 🙂

      Mesa

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

